Off-piste-guiding-header
OFF PISTE GUIDING
SKI & SNOWBOARD
Off-piste-guiding-header
OFF PISTE GUIDING
SKI & SNOWBOARD

Powder skiing on the Arlberg

Powder days are our favorite days

Feeling the powder snow under your skis and making your turns on untracked slopes – a feeling that is second to none.

The countless varied off-piste runs make the Arlberg region a paradise for freeriders. 

Included in the price: Avalanche equipment, airbag backpack, avalanche transceiver, avalanche shovel and probe (subject to availability).

Not included in the price are: Ski pass and insurance. 

PRICES

Non-binding prices (according to the recommendation of the Austrian Mountain Guide Association) for the season 2022/23.

The prices are for 1 person per day. For each additional person € 32,- will be charged

3 hours: € 280,-

5 hours: € 375,-

6 hours:€ 415,-

PRIVATE GROUPS:

Up to 7 people, 5 hours: € 480,-/day
Up to 7 people, 6 hours: € 530,-/day

FAQ'S

Are you wondering what makes the ski area in St. Anton am Arlberg so special? For us, quite clearly – the legendary off-piste possibilities and countless variant runs, that makes St. Anton a true paradise for freeriders. And yes, we admit it – when it snows, our feet tingle too and we can’t wait to finally be on the mountain. We share this contagious enthusiasm with you during off-piste guiding. Depending on your skills, we will choose the right route and show you the most beautiful descents in the open ski area. Your safety is always our top priority. 

The ski pass is not included in the ski lessons. Ski passes are available at the valley stations of the cable cars. 

Please consult your insurance advisor for this. In case of doubt, we recommend taking out a membership with the Austrian Alpine Club – this membership has comprehensive insurance for the free alpine area. 

For full day reservations, the ski/snowboard instructor or guide will suggest a break. Depending on where you are, on the mountain or in one of the villages on your route. The instructor or guide can also make reservations for you. 

Off-piste, freeriding, heliskiing and ski touring: in these types of skiing we move in the open ski area, sometimes it is difficult to have all participants in view. Your safety is very important to the guides at St. Anton Classic. Therefore the group size is limited to a maximum of 7 people.

Off-piste skis are wider than piste skis. We recommend about 90 mm (under the binding). This gives you more lift in loose airy snow. 

Yes, you are welcome to mix. Please note, depending on the terrain, snowboarders are at a bit of a “disadvantage”. Especially for longer cross-country skiing. However, if the difference in technical ability is too great, we recommend separate guides for skiers and snowboarders. 

Generally should never be missing:

-helmet
-goggles (ideally snow goggles with spare lenses or a spare pair of glasses)
-gloves (fingers or mittens, spare gloves),
-Sun protection (good to know – the sun is much stronger in the snow than at the sea, because in the mountains you are much closer to the sun and therefore the radiation is more intense. Also, the skin needs extra protection from the cold and wind)’.
-water
-caloric snacks
-lift pass

Especially for ski touring:

-Touring boots, skins, ski poles with large plates.
-For snowboarders: splitboard with suitable skins and foldable telescopic poles
-Spare shirt and dry clothes to be able to change the shirt worn after the ascent.
– thin spare gloves (for the ascent)

Our Guides

Famous powder runs on the Arlberg

EASY – FROM STUBEN TO THE VERWALL-VALLEY

For the first freeride experiences with a magnificent descent.

This freeride descent is ideal for those who want to gain their first freeride experience. We start at the top station of the Albona cable car and descend to the left towards the bottom station of the Albonagrat lift (chairlift). Already this descent with many short slopes is really fun in good conditions. Above the valley station of the Albonagrat lift we keep left and descend in the direction of Verwall. On this descent in the wide terrain, you can still discover untracked areas several days after the snowfall: ideal for trying out your first turns in deep snow. After the first descent we meet a forest path – here we descend briskly and with plenty of run down to the valley floor. We follow the path through the forest to the bus stop at Verwall-Rasthaus and return to St. Anton am Arlberg. 

MEDIUM – HASENFLUHSCHARTE TO ZÜRS

Basic freeride skills are required for this moderately difficult and frequently used variant descent.

A rewarding descent awaits freeriders in Zürs: We start at the top station of the Muggengratbahn 6-seater chairlift. We turn sharply left and traverse the slope parallel to the chairlift to the Hasenfluhscharte. The traverse is quickly found on this popular variant. On the east side of the Scharte it’s “drop in” and we immediately enter the slope here, always along the rock walls. Here everyone can choose their own “line” for the descent. Often one is greeted here with light, dry powder snow. After the deep snow descent we reach the piste 151/Jazzi and come back to the starting point in Zürs

DIFFICULT – HINTERE RENDLSCHARTE

This downhill run in the Rendl ski area will delight experienced freeriders. A safe skiing technique for entering the steep slope is a prerequisite.

The starting point for this descent is the top station of the Riffel 2 cable car. From the cable car exit, the first descent leads to Hinteren Rendl, with the chairlift behind. We always keep to the right until we reach the small hollow way. Here begins a short ascent: either with skins or the skis on the backpack. The stack track with its own hairpin bends in the steep north slope requires a good physical condition and leads uphill for about 45 minutes. 

The descent starts with a very steep hand, so a safe skiing technique is absolutely necessary. The slope runs flat at the bottom into the upper Malfontal valley. Depending on the snow conditions, special care is required here. 

In the middle part of the Malfontal, towards the east, we find wide slopes that we share with the ski tourers of the Rossfallscharte. The valley now narrows and we follow the path along the Malfonbach stream to the Malfonalm. Here we are rewarded with a short breather with a fantastic mountain panorama. The last part of the descent leads along a forest road downhill to Pettneu. Depending on the snow conditions, a descent to the wellness center in Pettneu is possible, from there the bus or cab will take us back to St. Anton am Arlberg. 

ST. ANTON CLASSIC KG
SKISCHULE
SKI & MOUNTAIN GUIDES

DORFSTRASSE 57
6580
ST. ANTON AM ARLBERG

Off-piste-guiding-header
OFF PISTE GUIDING
SKI & SNOWBOARD
Off-piste-guiding-header
OFF PISTE GUIDING
SKI & SNOWBOARD

Tiefschneefahren am Arlberg

Tiefschneetage sind unsere Lieblingstage

Den Pulverschnee unter den Skiern zu spüren und auf unverspurten Hängen seine Schwünge zu ziehen – ein Gefühl, das seinesgleichen sucht.

Die unzähligen abwechslungsreichen Abfahrten abseits der Pisten machen die Arlbergregion zu einem Paradies für Freerider. 

Im Preis inbegriffen sind: Lawinenausrüstung, Airbag-Rucksack, Lawinenverschüttetensuchgerät, Lawinenschaufel und -sonde (je nach Verfügbarkeit).

Nicht im Preis enthalten sind: Skipass und Versicherung. 

PREISE

Unverbindliche Preise (lt. Empfehlung des österr. Bergführerverbandes) für die Saison 2022/23.

Die Preise gelten für 1 Person pro Tag. Für jede weitere Person werden € 32,- verrechnet

Dauer 3 Stunden: Ab € 280,-

Dauer 5 Stunden: Ab € 375,-

Dauer 6 Stunden: Ab € 415,-

PRIVATE GRUPPEN:

Bis zu 7 Personen, 5 Stunden € 480,-/Tag
Bis zu 7 Personen, 6 Stunden € 530,-/Tag

FAQ'S

Ihr fragt euch, was das Skigebiet in St. Anton am Arlberg so besonders macht? Für uns ganz klar- die legendären Off-Piste-Möglichkeiten und unzähligen Variantenabfahrten, das macht St. Anton für uns als ein wahres Paradies für Freerider aus. Und ja, wir geben es zu – wenn es schneit, dann kribbelt es auch in unseren Füßen und wir können es nicht erwarten, endlich am Berg zu sein. Diese ansteckende Begeisterung teilen wir beim Off-Piste Guiding mit euch. Je nach Können wählen wir die passende Route und zeigen euch die schönsten Abfahren im freien Skiraum. Dabei hat eure Sicherheit immer oberste Priorität. 

Der Skipass ist im Skiunterricht nicht inkludiert. Skipässe sind an den Talstationen der Seilbahnen erhältlich. 

Bitte haltet hierfür mit eurem Versicherungsberater Rücksprache. Im Zweifel empfehlen wir den Abschluss einer Mitgliedschaft beim Österreichischen Alpenverein – diese Mitgliedschaft hat eine umfassende Versicherung für den freien alpinen Raum. 

Bei Ganztages-Reservierungen wird der Ski-/SnowboardlehrerIn oder Guide eine Pause vorschlagen. Je nachdem wo ihr euch befindet, auf dem Berg oder in einem der Dörfer auf eurer Route. Der Lehrer oder Guide kann auch gerne Reservierungen für euch vornehmen. 

Im Gelände, beim Freeriding, Heliskiing und auf Skitour: bei diesen Arten des Skifahrens bewegen wir uns im freien Skiraum, teilweise ist es nur schwer möglich alle TeilnehmerInnen im Blick zu haben. Den Guides bei St. Anton Classic ist eure Sicherheit sehr wichtig. Daher ist die Gruppengröße auf maximal 7 Personen begrenzt, 

Off-Piste Ski sind breiter als Pistenski. Wir empfehlen ca. 90 mm (unter der Bindung). Damit habt ihr im lockeren luftigen Schnee mehr Auftrieb. 

Ja, ihr könnt gerne mischen. Bitte beachtet, je nach Geländewahl sind Snowboarder etwas im “Nachteil”. Vor allem bei längerem Querfahren. Ist der Unterschied des technischen Könnens aber zu groß, empfehlen wir separate Guides für SkifahrerInnen und SnowboarderInnen. 

Generell sollte nie fehlen:

-Helm
-Brillen (idealerweise Schneebrille mit Ersatzgläser oder eine Ersatzbrille)
-Handschuhe (Finger oder Fäustlinge, Ersatzhandschuhe),
-Sonnenschutz (good to know – die Sonne ist im Schnee um einiges stärker wie am Meer, da man in den Bergen der Sonne deutlich näher ist und somit eine intensivere Strahlung herrscht. Außerdem braucht die Haut einen zusätzlichen Kälte- und Windschutz.)’
-Wasser
-kalorienhaltige Snacks
-Liftpass

Speziell für Skitouren:

-Tourenschuhe, Felle, Skistöcke mit großen Tellern
-Für Snowboarder: Splitboard mit passendem Fell und faltbare Teleskop-Stöcke
-Ersatzhemd und trockene Kleidung, um nach dem Aufstieg das getragene Shirt wechseln zu können.
– dünne Ersatzhandschuhe (für den Aufstieg)

Unsere Guides

Bekannte Tiefschneeabfahrten am Arlberg

LEICHT – VON STUBEN INS VERWALL

Für die ersten Freeride-Erfahrungen mit einer herrlichen Abfahrt

Diese Freeride-Abfahrt ist ideal für diejenigen, die ihre ersten Freeride-Erfahrungen sammeln wollen. Wir starten an der Bergstation der Albonabahn und fahren nach links in Richtung der Talstation des Albonagratlifts (Sessellift) ab. Schon diese Abfahrt mit vielen kurzen Hängen macht bei guten Verhältnissen richtig Spaß. Oberhalb der Talstation des Albonagratliftes halten wir uns links und fahren in Richtung Verwall ab. Auf dieser Abfahrt im weiten Gelände kann man auch mehrere Tage nach dem Schneefall noch unverspurte Bereiche entdecken: ideal, um die ersten Schwünge im Tiefschnee auszuprobieren. Nach der ersten Abfahrt treffen wir auf einen Waldweg – hier geht es zügig und mit viel Auslauf hinunter in den Talboden. Wir folgen dem Weg durch den Wald bis zur Bushaltestelle beim Verwall-Rasthaus und fahren zurück nach St. Anton am Arlberg. 

MITTEL – VON DER HASENFLUHSCHARTE NACH ZÜRS

Für diese mittelschwere und häufig genutzte Variantenabfahrt sind grundlegende Freeride-Kenntnisse erforderlich.

Eine lohnende Abfahrt erwartet die Freerider in Zürs: Wir starten bei der Bergstation der 6er-Sesselbahn Muggengratbahn. Wir biegen scharf links ab und queren den Hang parallel zum Sessellift bis zur Hasenfluhscharte. Der Quergang ist bei dieser beliebten Variante schnell gefunden. Auf der Ostseite der Scharte heißt es “drop in” und wir steigen hier sofort in die Piste ein, immer an den Felswänden entlang. Hier kann jeder seine eigene “Linie” für die Abfahrt wählen. Oft wird man hier mit leichtem, trockenem Pulverschnee begrüßt. Nach der Tiefschneeabfahrt erreichen wir die Piste 151/Jazzi und kommen zurück zum Ausgangspunkt in Zürs

SCHWER – HINTERE RENDLSCHARTE

Diese Abfahrt im Skigebiet Rendl wird erfahrene Freerider begeistern. Eine sichere Skitechnik für den Einstieg in den Steilhang ist Voraussetzung.

Der Ausgangspunkt für diese Abfahrt ist die Bergstation der Riffel 2 Bahn. Vom Ausstieg der Seilbahn führt die erste Abfahrt zum Hinteren Rendl, mit dem Sessellift dahinter. Wir halten uns immer rechts, bis wir den kleinen Hohlweg erreichen. Hier beginnt ein kurzer Aufstieg: entweder mit Fellen oder den Skiern am Rucksack. Die Stapelspur mit ihren eigenen Kehren im steilen Nordhang erfordert eine gute Kondition und führt etwa 45 Minuten bergauf. 

Die Abfahrt beginnt mit einer sehr steilen Hand, so dass eine sichere Skitechnik unbedingt erforderlich ist. Die Piste verläuft unten flach ins obere Malfontal. Je nach Schneeverhältnissen ist hier besondere Vorsicht geboten. 

Im mittleren Teil des Malfontals, Richtung Osten, finden wir breite Hänge, die wir uns mit den Skitourengehern der Rossfallscharte teilen. Das Tal verengt sich nun und wir folgen dem Weg entlang des Malfonbaches zur Malfonalm. Hier werden wir bei einer kurzen Verschnaufpause mit einem traumhaften Bergpanorama belohnt. Das letzte Stück des Abstiegs führt über eine Forststraße talwärts nach Pettneu. Je nach Schneelage ist eine Abfahrt bis zum Wellnesscenter in Pettneu möglich, von dort bringt uns der Bus oder das Taxi zurück nach St. Anton am Arlberg. 

ST. ANTON CLASSIC KG
SKISCHULE
SKI & MOUNTAIN GUIDES

DORFSTRASSE 57
6580
ST. ANTON AM ARLBERG